Atlanta Rhythm Section


Atlanta Rhythm Section

  • November 11, 2017 (07:00 pm - 11:00 pm)
  • 5039 West Broad St. Sugar Hill, GA 30518

Formed from the cream of Atlanta’s studio musicians, the Atlanta Rhythm Section (actually hailing from nearby Doraville, Georgia) came together in 1970 after working on a Roy Orbison recording session. Keyboardist Dean Daughtry and drummer Robert Nix had been members of Orbison's backing group, the Candymen, and Daughtry and guitarist J.R. Cobb had been members of the Top 40 hitmakers Classics IV (“Spooky,” “Stormy,” “Traces”). Rounding out the original ARS lineup were vocalist Rodney Justo (replaced after the first album by Ronnie Hammond), guitarist Barry Bailey, and bassist Paul Goddard. After an extended break, the band got back together in the mid-‘90s and re-recorded some of their best and best-known songs. The live-in-the-studio sound of Atlanta Rhythm Section ‘96 presents a different, less polished take on some classic tunes and captures the sound of their live performances from that period. Three original band members returned: singer Ronnie Hammond, guitarist Barry Bailey and keyboardist Dean Daughtry. They were joined by Steve Stone on guitar, Justin Senker on bass and Sean Burke on drums. The group also cut a second version of these songs with the same lineup except for new drummer R. J. Vealey. It was around this time that ARS was elected to the Georgia Music Hall of Fame. The band was honored at a September 1996 induction ceremony at the Georgia World Congress Center. Doors @ 7pm, Opener @ 8pm, ARS @ 9pm

Nov 11

Atlanta Rhythm Section

  • Nov 11, 2017 (07:00 pm - 10:00 pm)
  • 5039 West Broad St. Sugar Hill, GA 30518
Get A Ticket



Doors @ 7pm, Opener @ 8pm, ARS @ 9pm

  • Image

    Andy Velo

    November 11, 2017